The Star Spangled Winners of the Toronto Indy

Written by Victor Genova.

Fun fact- Americans have visited victory lane 12 times at the Toronto Indy- more than any other nation. It’s the 4th of July, and while our neighbors to the south celebrate their Independence Day, we wanted to take a moment to celebrate the American-born drivers that have won the Toronto Indy.

Michael Andretti - 7 Wins

For lifelong IndyCar fans, Michael Andretti's ranking at the top of our list should come as no surprise. No other driver has had as much success in Toronto than him. Andretti scored his first win in 1989, and then followed it up with three different back-to-back wins dating all the way to 2001. He's won the race in the Lola and Reynard chassis, and taken Chevrolet, Ford, and Honda all to victory lane.

Michael Andretti

Al Unser Jr. - 2 Wins

Al Unser Jr has two wins in Toronto. He took his first win back in 1989, and followed it up with win number two in 1990. Coincidently, the guy who blocked his chance at a three-peat was none other than Michael Andretti! Unser was the last driver to win the Toronto Indy in a March chassis.

Al Unser Jr

AJ Allmendinger - 1 Win

Sometimes a change of scenery is all a driver needs to win. Fired from RuSport after the first four races of the 2006 season, AJ Allmendinger was immediately picked up by Forsythe racing and responded by winning the next three consecutive races (5 wins in total that season). Race number three on his winning streak happened to be the Toronto Indy. Fun fact: Allmendinger is the only driver to win both a support series race and the Toronto Indy. Back in 2003 he won the Formula Atlantic race.

 AJ Allmendinger

Ryan Hunter-Reay - 1 Win

Toronto was win number three on Ryan Hunder-Reay’s championship run back in 2012. Though his only win, he has two other podium finishes to his credit.

 Ryan Hunter-Reay

Josef Newgarden - 1 Win

Eleventh place isn’t the most ideal qualifying position to win from, but it didn’t stop Josef Newgarden from racing his way to the front, and winning the 2015 Honda Indy Toronto. The results don’t show it, but Newgarden has always been competitive at Toronto, but just comes up short at the finish. 

Josef Newgarden

Bobby Rahal - 1 Win

We love Bobby Rahal, and the only reason we have him at the bottom of the list is because he’s been at the top of other articles already published. As we’ve said before, you always remember your first, and Rahal will always be known as the inaugural Toronto Indy winner. Perhaps son Graham can break through this year, and make it the first time both father and son have won the race.

Bobby Rahal

Victor Genova is the host of the Media People Podcast and a freelance racing writer. @VicGenova